BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
jwillis
Quartz | Level 8

Dear all,

How do I stop a runaway EG submitted task*?  I am new to EG but not SAS.  I am remote connecting to licensed SAS Servers (**.**.sas.com) in Cary(?).  I opened EG, ran a task, opened the task log, and clicked "Send To" to send the log to an associate.  An error box opened advising that my session is not set up to send emails. Then the "Send To" "Sending E-Mail" box opened and the green bars began circling.  How do I stop the "Send To" box?  The green bars have been circling for 10 minutes.  If I stop the entire EG session, I lose all my work files. I would prefer shutting down EG.  

*In PC SAS I press "Ctrl-Break" and follow the prompts to stop a runaway request.  "Ctrl-Break" is not responding and I cannot make any of the taskbar buttons activate.

Thank you.  

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
ChrisHemedinger
Community Manager

Hi,

This article describes it for SAS programs that are running:

Cancelling a SAS job gone awry - The SAS Dummy

But your issue sounds like a UI glitch.  If your log is very large, you might simply export it and then attach the file as an e-mail.  If you want to "Send as a step", then you'll need to go into Tools->Options: Administrative and set the e-mail SMTP settings so that EG can send mail on your behalf.

Chris

It's time to register for SAS Innovate! Join your SAS user peers in Las Vegas on April 16-19 2024.

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
ChrisHemedinger
Community Manager

Hi,

This article describes it for SAS programs that are running:

Cancelling a SAS job gone awry - The SAS Dummy