BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
mals
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi

I'm brand new to sas. I have some files in the temp work folder in sas 9.4. How can I access them in SAS enterprise guide? (I can't even work out how to save them to a permanent library, I'm very new).

Thanks for your help!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
TomKari
Onyx | Level 15

Hi, mals

Let me add a bit to the very good comments from the other experts.

I recommend you only use Enterprise Guide until you get a little more familiar with SAS. In addition to the point-and-click tasks, you can also create and run SAS code using File -> New -> Program, so you have the best of both worlds.

As the others have mentioned, but it bears repeating, the WORK library is created fresh every time you run EG, and removed at the end of your session. So nothing can be kept there after the end of a session. Frequently in EG the SASUSER library is a permanent library that's only available to you, but this can vary from one installation to another. If you're unsure, you can check with your SAS administrator.

To see your SAS libraries, and the contents, there is a "server list" display in EG. If you can't see it, use View -> Server List, and once it's open, click down through Servers, the server you're using (there may only be one), and Libraries.

There is a tutorial in the Help in EG. It's well worth working your way through.

To move files around is a common task in SAS, and there are many ways to do it. When you're starting out, I suggest the following:
1. Open the source dataset by finding it in the server list, and double clicking on it. This should open it in your EG workspace.
2. Click on the Query Builder button. This will create a new query, based on your open dataset.
3. Drag whichever variables you want to copy to the right side of the Select Data tab.