BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
4MUL8R
Calcite | Level 5

I have five tests, each having five test replicate data files of 15,000 rows each.  For one test, I have created a process flow that appends the test number, pulls selected rows, creates a categoric variable for sets of these rows, and analyzes the data.  I would like to simply rename the source excel files and run this again, for the second test quintet.  However, being new to EG 7.1.3, I don't know how to do this.  I am not a SAS programmer and much prefer the use of EG.

What is the correct way to bring the EG process flow to bear on the new source data files, please?

4 REPLIES 4
ChrisHemedinger
Community Manager

A bit manual, but you can right-click on each Excel file in the process flow, select Properties, and browse to a different Excel file to replace it.  As long as all spreadsheet structure remains the same in the new files, everything downstream should work.

You can also use Tools->Project Maintenance to remap data files within your project.  Replace "this" file with "that" file -- that sort of thing.

If this is something that you plan to do often, it might be work converting those Import steps into code that you can repeat and generalize, and then redirect with some simple macro vars.  Or create a staging area for your Excel files with consistent names ("File1", "File2", "File3", etc.) and include a step before the flow that copies the source files into the expected file names. You can use the System Command task (custom task you must download) to automate that part, assuming your Excel files are local and your SAS session is remote.

It's time to register for SAS Innovate! Join your SAS user peers in Las Vegas on April 16-19 2024.
Kurt_Bremser
Super User