BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
LeroyA
Calcite | Level 5

Hi all,

I'm relatively new to SAS, have completed a beginner a course on EG 6.1 and Miner.   I've looked around the forum but don't seem to find a solution to a specific problem I'm faced with.

I have imported a dataset, say contract dates. Each observation has a start date, and an end date if the contract was terminated.  I want to count the number of observations (active and/or ended) on different time frames, f.i. last 60 months, and create an overview like a summary table.

Obs   Start                        End

1        Jan 1, 2015               -

2        March 15, 2010      April 20, 2012

3        October 4, 2013     October 4, 2015 

The only method I currently see is to create a computed column that compares the observation start/end date to the reference date (1: active on date or during period, 0: inactive) and then summarizing it,  but this would mean having to create dozens of computed columns with fixed reference dates to build up a history. 

Obs   Start                        End                       Jan 1, 2015     Nov 1, 2015

1        Jan 1, 2015               -                                  1                    1

2        March 15, 2010      April 20, 2012                0                    0

3        October 4, 2013     October 4, 2015             1                   0

I'm struggling to find an easier solution in SAS EG. Can someone point me in the right direction or a similar topic on how to handle this?

Many thanks in advance!

7 REPLIES 7
Kurt_Bremser
Super User
%let start='01jan2016'd;
%let end=%sysfunc(date());

proc sql;
select count(*) from have
where start < &end and (end > &start or end = .)
;
quit;

So you don't need extra variables.

LeroyA
Calcite | Level 5

Thank you for the quick reply, Kurt.   SAS programming is still very new to me.  I'll try to find out what that code does and how to use it before posting a new question.

LinusH
Tourmaline | Level 20