BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
spg
Obsidian | Level 7 spg
Obsidian | Level 7

Hi there,

I'm new to SAS EG and am having trouble working with it. I cannot create SAS datasets from EG as SAS is not installed locally.

When I import a CSV file into EG and try to filter on the variables, it gives me an ERROR saying that the file WORK.XXX does not exist. What do I have to do to be able to be able to filter on a variable in this dataset and create a new one with reduced variables?

Thank you.

6 REPLIES 6
dkb
Quartz | Level 8 dkb
Quartz | Level 8

Did you create an EG project, import the CSV file into WORK, close the project thus ending your SAS session and losing your work directory, then reopen the project and discover the work table doesn't exist?  If so, just import into a permanent library instead of WORK.

Steelers_In_DC
Barite | Level 11

when you import the csv look at the code that EG builds, and the log.  Make sure you are referencing the same data set name that EG is using.

ChrisHemedinger
Community Manager

Echoing what others have said:

• by default, the Import Data task will generate a data set in WORK, a temporary library that is deleted at the end of your SAS session.
  • You can change the Import Data task to place the output data in a permanent library, one that persists from session to session.  Either a SAS admin can create something like that for your use or you can assign it yourself using the LIBNAME statement in a program before the Import task.
  • If you're working on a SAS Grid environment where the SAS node might be different from task to task (as work is assigned to balance the load), you will need to use a shared WORK location (a.k.a. GRIDWORK) to keep a semipermanent set of data sets that can be shared across the grid nodes during your SAS Enterprise Guide session.  This behavior is facilitated for you with varying degrees, depending on what version of SAS Enterprise Guide and SAS you have.

Chris