BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
ebarnes5
Calcite | Level 5

I am a new student to SAS Enterprise Guide. I  have imported an excel file to the program. However when I go to click on the query builder, I get an error message of 'unable to parse dataset name. Parameter name: dataSet.' I have no idea what this means but it seems to be making some of the functions in the query builder not work quite right. A friend who downloaded and then imported this same file does not get this message. I would appreciate any knowledge on how to fix this. 

2 REPLIES 2
Reeza
Super User

What did you name the dataset? Post snapshots of your import. 

You can try running the following code, add a program and submit it. Then retry import and see if you have issues.

Options validvarname = V7;

CaseySmith
SAS Employee

Along the same lines as @Reeza's suggestion, as an alternative to setting validvarname=v7, you could just try ensuring the output data set name in the Import Wizard doesn't contain any non-standard characters (ex. no spaces, doesn't start with a number, etc.).  Guessing you may have a space in your Excel file name, which results in a space in the imported data set name, which is throwing off the Query Builder.

Another thing I would check is to make sure you have the latest hotfix for whatever version of EG you are running.  You can check and download latest hotfixes from here:

http://ftp.sas.com/techsup/download/hotfix/HF2/94_all_hosts.html#E

Casey

Register today and join us virtually on June 16!
sasglobalforum.com | #SASGF

View now: on-demand content for SAS users

sas-innovate-2024.png

Join us for SAS Innovate April 16-19 at the Aria in Las Vegas. Bring the team and save big with our group pricing for a limited time only.

Pre-conference courses and tutorials are filling up fast and are always a sellout. Register today to reserve your seat.

Register now!

SAS Enterprise Guide vs. SAS Studio