BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
☑ This topic is solved. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Quentin
Super User

If you change to using libname XLSX do you have the same problem?  

I think the Excel file might be locked after the libname statement runs.  But then you can use libname libref clear; to explicitly clear the libref, and release the lock.  

I suppose it's possible that PROC IMPORT is creating a libref behind the scenes, and somehow the statement to clear the libref is failin on occasion..  Just a guess.  I don't use PROC IMPORT much.

BASUG is hosting free webinars Next up: Don Henderson presenting on using hash functions (not hash tables!) to segment data on June 12. Register now at the Boston Area SAS Users Group event page: https://www.basug.org/events.
MarkAllemang
SAS Employee

@Michael_W - I am a developer on EG and just noticed your reply today. Apologies for not noticing this topic sooner. 

A few thoughts:

• It would be very helpful to follow the suggestion above to use Process Explorer. The downside there is that it would need to be run on the server machine, and you may not have access to that. But if that can be done by you or an admin, it will definitely say what process is locking the file. I suspect it will be the workspace session (sas.exe).
  • I have tried to rep without success. You mentioned it is intermittent. Any pattern to the scenario will be helpful as intermittent issues are always much more frustrating to diagnose than repeatable ones are. 
  • If you have access to SAS Studio on that server, it would be interesting to try the same code from there as that takes EG out of the equation. I understand that your overall process that this code node is involved in may prevent running in Studio.

I am very puzzled at the difference in behavior between disconnecting the workspace server in EG and exiting EG. They should have the same effect.