BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
matt23
Quartz | Level 8

Hi.

I am a student and I'm working on regression models. I have 24 models for every hour with 7 variables. When I do the selection based on adjrsq AIC SBC and RMSE, I get couple models for each hour that are very close. Is there an easy way to check them or run them through the data to see how they would do ? And by easy, I mean something I would be able to do as I am only a student. Or should I just trust the selection options?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

That's the problem with fitting models. THere are many ways to measure how good the model fits, they don't always agree, and if you're fitting models once an hour in some automated fashion, you can't really spend the time trying to understand which model is really really really really the best. So, I think you need to pick a criteria for how good the model fits, and go with it. You might want to consult with statisticians at your company/university to see if they have a preference for certain model fit statistics in your specific application.

--
Paige Miller

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3
PaigeMiller
Diamond | Level 26

That's the problem with fitting models. THere are many ways to measure how good the model fits, they don't always agree, and if you're fitting models once an hour in some automated fashion, you can't really spend the time trying to understand which model is really really really really the best. So, I think you need to pick a criteria for how good the model fits, and go with it. You might want to consult with statisticians at your company/university to see if they have a preference for certain model fit statistics in your specific application.

--
Paige Miller
matt23
Quartz | Level 8
Thank you. Can I ask one more question?