BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Doc_Duke
Rhodochrosite | Level 12
Tillmann had a question on replace values and said he was evaluating it for teaching. It prompted me to post.

I've been using EG in teaching for the last 3-4 years. It gets better for the students with each version. A couple of comments:

1) "The little SAS book for Enterprise Guide 4.1" is an excellent student text.
2) If you are teaching in-house or in a degree-granting program, the SAS Academic Program has some nice resources.

Doc Muhlbaier
Duke
3 REPLIES 3
deleted_user
Not applicable
1) "The little SAS book for Enterprise Guide 4.1" is an excellent student text.

There should be a pdf copy of a user manual, like you get with JMP and almost everything else, so you don't have to go off and buy a book.
Doc_Duke
Rhodochrosite | Level 12
Although I agree in concept with the "free" PDF, the book is part of the BBU serices and doing so would deny the authors of their royalties. Slaughter & Delwiche have done an excellent job and deserve their royalties.

Under the SAS Academic Program, SAS will provide pdf's of the course notes and a PowerPoint slide set, as well as a substantial price discount on the notes. I've used all in my course at various times. Because my teaching has been done in concert with a biostatistics class, the order of presentation is vastly different from either the SAS course notes or "the little sas book" so I've not been able to rely totally on either.

Doc
LarrryHoyle
Calcite | Level 5
I've been using EG since 2002 for a class on managing research data. What I like about it is that I can encapsulate data and sample procedures in project files for the interactive part of the class and avoid all the wasted time that used to be spent on typos and navigating to folders etc.