BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
ShawnTaylor
Calcite | Level 5

Good Afternoon,

I am new to SAS and SAS communities! I have been trying to understand The best/most efficient way to query data from our MS SQL Server. Currently I am using SAS Access for ODBC

Here are my Observations:

Option #1:

If I use the query builder in a process flow and drag in two libraries, join them and retrieve a couple of columns from each, I see four threads open on my sql server - two per table. While I don't like this, I expect it and know that is the behaviour.

If I then add a filter to my query and hit run again, it opens four new threads!! I was unaware of this.

Option #2:

If I use a proc sql; statement and write the query manually, I reduce the number of threads to two. This is a plus. Apparently proc sql commands use a cursor which means I lose all of the caching/performance benefits of multi-threaded reads and SAS caching.

My questions are:

1> Is the SAS/ACCESS Interface to Microsoft SQL Server a better solution?? Better performance, fewer threads etc.

2> Is there a different SAS code option like proc sql on steroids??

I can change the user properties that SAS is using to kill the client thread after a smaller amount of inactivity but this seems like a poor use of resources on the part of the SASAPP server?

Thanks for any opinions/insights/feedback etc.

Shawn

2 REPLIES 2
ChrisHemedinger
Community Manager

Shawn, welcome to the community! I'll supply some information that might help.

When you use the Query Builder, EG opens the tables (to get column info and such), so that interaction might account for some of the threads.  These "open" actions are in addition to the activity that the PROC SQL program will generate.  Theoretically the Query Builder will close the tables when you close the window...