BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
deleted_user
Not applicable
Hello,
I am new to SAS, so I apologize if the question is too simple, I have created an Information and I know how to open this in EG. The Information map contains info about the courses a student has taken, so if the student has taken 4 courses, I have 4 rows of data for that student.
Now I am trying to change this so that a student only has 1 row of data and the infromation about the 4 courses(or any number of courses) show up as additional columns for this students, so I am thinking transpose but I could be totally wrong. Is there a way to transform the data from the information map to result in the data I am looking for.
Here is a sample

Input data
Student1 name dob, teachernm school
course1
course2
course3

Now I want to the output data to be
student1 name dob teachernm_course1 school_course1 teacher_nm_course2 school_course2

I would really appreciate if any one can point me in the direction on how to do this.
If I posted this in the wrong forum I apologize

Thanks
4 REPLIES 4
RichardH_sas
SAS Employee
Welcome to using SAS!

There's a task in SAS Enterprise Guide (EG) called Transpose Data, which could be used. However, there's another task which might be even better for what you're trying to do called split columns. That's essentially what you want to do here: split the teachernm column and split the school column. The only tricky part is that the Split Columns task limits you to splitting one column at a time. So, we can use two Split Columns tasks and then join the results.

Click the input data source then select Tasks \ Data \ Split Columns in EG 4.2 (if you have EG 4.1, select Data \ Split Columns). For the task roles, use Teachernm as the Column to split; Course as the Value identifier column; and name, dob as the Group analysis by columns. In the Results pane, specify an output location and do use a prefix, something like Teacher_nm_.