BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
lavi
Calcite | Level 5

Hi All,

I am new to SAS and trying to add login for our DB so that users can access the DB seamlessly. When I try to do that I get the following error "Cannot add login. userid is already used by another user or group". We are using the same user id for Prod environment but want to use it for UAT environment also . As per excerpts from SAS documentation shown below I should be able to use the same ID as long as I am using different domain. Is this really possible ?

"If you give a user two logins that contain the same user ID, the logins must be in different authentication domains. Within an authentication domain, each user ID must be unique. For example, if you give Tara O'Toole two logins that both have a user ID of tara, then you cannot associate both of those logins with the OraAuth authentication domain. As with the previous requirement, this requirement is case-insensitive and is applied to the fully qualified form of the user ID. "                  

7 REPLIES 7
jklaverstijn
Rhodochrosite | Level 12

Hi Lavi and all,

This question was never answered. There is a similar thread () that also was not answered, at least to my satisfaction. I would like to get some attention to this again as I am struggling with the same.

The quote in the original post holds, but only for a single group. So if you have Lara in authdomain OracleProdAuth and authdomain OracleDevAuth than both logins can be defined for group A but not one in group A and the other in group B. I would argue both logins are not the same in both cases and it should be allowed. My thought: just because the accounts sound the same doesn't mean they are.

So I hope someone can shed some light on these matters, either regarding the ratio behind this behaviour or a solid approach.

jakarman
Barite | Level 11

Hi jan en allemaal.  Nou niet blijven worstelen Jan, het zit gewoon echt fout.