BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
KKS2
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi All

This is my first time posting so please excuse me if i have missed anything.

I use enterprise guide and i have a data set that looks like this below. With thousands of IDs. I want to add an extra variable(ENTRIES) that sums the number of times the ID entered over time. the dates go back many year and will continue going forwards.

Any help will be appreciated.

Thanks

KKS2

IDJul-17Aug-17Sep-17Oct-17Nov-17Dec-17Entries      
1111..111.1 (entered in Sept17)   
11121.11.13 (entered in July17 then Sept17 and then dec17)
1113....111 (entered in Nov17)   
1114.111111 (entered in Aug17)   
11181 ..1.2      

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
RW9
Diamond | Level 26 RW9
Diamond | Level 26

To note, post test data in the form of a datastep, follow this post if unsure:

https://communities.sas.com/t5/SAS-Communities-Library/How-to-create-a-data-step-version-of-your-dat...

Use the code window which is the {i} above the post are to post these things.

There are two main ways to approach this.  The first is to stick with the model you have now for your data - to do this you would then employ arrays.  Array all the dated variables, then loop over that array turning on a flag when 1 is encountered and turning it off and adding 1 to entries when . or last, maybe something like:

data want;
  set have;
  array dates jul17--dec17;
  onflag=0;
  entries=0;
  do i=1 to dim(dates);
    if dates{i}=1 and onflag=0 then onflag=1;
    if dates{i}=. and onflag=1 then do;
      onflag=0;
      entries=sum(entries,1);
    end;
    if i=dim(dates) and onflag=1 then sum(entries,1);
  end;
run;