BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
runningjay
Fluorite | Level 6

I'm relatively new to SAS and I'm trying to create a new field based on the value in a variable titled STARTDATE formattted as DATE YYYYMMDD10. I want to use this variable to calculate a new variable labeled "FISCALYR". I need only the YYYY for this new variable, but I want it to be based on a fiscal year that runs from 07/01 to 06/30.

As an example if the STARTDATE is 20100625 I want the FISCALFY to reflect 2010. If the STARTDATE is 20100703 I want the FISCALFY to reflect 2011. I was thinking I could use the INTCK or INTNX functions, but I'm not sure how to make this work.

Thanks for the feedback!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Reeza
Super User

Did the code produce what you want then?

@runningjay wrote:

Yes - it is a numeric field with a date format.

Thanks

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8
Reeza
Super User

What type and format are the date variables?

Are they numeric with a format applied such as yymmdd10, or are they a character and appear as 2018/06/28?

ballardw
Super User

Before going any further please confirm that your Startdate variable is 1) numeric and 2) has an actual SAS Format of yymmdd10. If the SAS format is not a date format displaying the values the way you want then your value is basically just a number and the Date related functions and such will not work. Use proc contents or the SAS explorer to view column properties or such. I ask for clarification because there is no SAS supplied format yyyymmdd10. There is yymmdd10. however.

IF the value is a SAS date value then

Fiscalyear = year(datevariable) + (month(datevariable) > 6);

data example;
   input date mmddyy10.;
   format date yymmdd10.;
   Fiscalyear = year(date) + (month(date) > 6);
datalines;
01/01/2016
06/20/2016
07/01/2016
;
run;