BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
mfeller
Fluorite | Level 6

I have a data integrity query that if everything is running smoothly, when the query is done, ideally there should be no results.

I want to have a conditional step after that query that send out one of two emails.  

1.  If the previous query is null; send out an email saying, great job, no errors.

2.  If the previous query is not null; sent out an email saying; please see corrections and attach the file.

Is there an easy way to do this?

Let me state, I *only* use the visual interface for Enterprise Guide.  I have zero knowledge of the SAS language or how to integrate SAS programming into my visual EG use.  The answer to my question might be there is no easy way.

The only way I've been able to do it so far is very convoluted.  I take my query and append a dummy result, sort it and in the conditional step say if the first results equals my appended data, then then the null email.  Else, I have to filter out my appended result so as to not send dummy data, then send out the attached result email.  

Thanks!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
TomKari
Onyx | Level 15

Don't be too hard on Kurt. When you've used SAS for a long time, you become a very fervent advocate!

However, it is possible to meet your needs using only EG. Here's how:

1. I'm assuming you know how to set up your steps to send out the emails.

2. Use the query builder on the result dataset of your query; drag any column into the "select data" grid, and set the Summary option to "Count".

3. When you run the query, you'll get a single observation with a single variable which will be the count of non-null values in the column. If everything went well, I assume this will be zero, otherwise it will be non-zero.