BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
SASintheSouth
Calcite | Level 5

Hey, I have a dataset that has a couple of variables, with two particuliar variables possibly being different.  For example I have Location, Product, Item Number and Price and Year (price of that product for that year).   I have another record for each product for a different year.  So my data looks somewhat like this:

Location          Product                    Item #                    Price               Year    

Northeast        Window Cleaner      12345                    $1.99               2011

Northeast        Window Cleaner      12345                    $1.89               2010

What I need out of the thousands of records is if the price is the SAME for a particuliar product comparing those two years (2010 vs. 2011), then I want to extract those records ONLY.  I don't care if the prices were different.

I simply cannot find a way to do this from within EG.  I am new to SAS and do have some (very little!) programming experience, but not enough to be able to figure it out in the code.

Can anyone help?  Any help would be greatly appreciated and thanks in advance!

CJ

3 REPLIES 3
Reeza
Super User

Add the columns you want in query builder and then two calculated columns in your query builder - max of price and min of price.

In your filter say that they should be the same for the summarized data.

Astounding
PROC Star

Well, since EG lets you create a customized node, here's how you might do it by writing your own logic:

proc sort data=have;

by location item_num year;

run;

data want;

set have;

*** If desired, add here:  where year in (2010, 2011);

by location item_num price notsorted;

if first.price=0 or last.price=0;

run;

This code is a little more generalized than you asked for ... it will work if you have multiple years in the data.  It also assumes that you want to compare prices within the same location only.

Good luck.

TomKari
Onyx | Level 15