BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
deleted_user
Not applicable
Folks,

I could not find any relevent Board to post this topic, so apolozies if i am posting in wrong board.

I work in Finance/Banking Industry and an MBA in Finance, coding in SAS is part of my New Job, am not pro in SAS.

I need to learn SAS coding so we can automate lot of our processess.

- May someone suggest me what is the best way to learn SAS?
- Do i need to go through some SAS certification course?
- What is the best Book to use while Learning SAS?

It will be great if someone could guide on above questions.

Cheers
5 REPLIES 5
Doc_Duke
Rhodochrosite | Level 12
First, you could search the forums for as this question has come up a number of times before.

The "best" way to learn SAS is a function of your learning style. Many people find that taking an in person course (or three) is most effective. Some do better a web courses and some books.

SAS offers a number of courses (in person, live web, and recorded web) that are quite good.

Since you posted this to the EGuide forum, there are a coupls of books to recommend for EGuide specifically. "SAS for Dummies" and "the little SAS book for Enterprise Guide" are both good ways to get started. The search I listed above will yield a lot of other books.

Personally, I don't think that SAS certification is a necessary condition for someone whose primary career is different from SAS programming. You may wish to consider it eventually, but it is not the place to start.

Doc Muhlbaier
Duke
Alana_Sealy
SAS Employee
Hello sasgeek,

I agree that SAS certification may not be the way to go at first.

I went through the Base Programming certification process last year. There are 2 classes that correspond to the Base Programming Certification Exam - SAS Programming 1: Essentials & SAS Programming 2: Data Manipulation Techniques. The classes were very helpful and gave an introduction to a lot of topics. I learn best in a classroom setting so this was the way for me to go.