BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
SmithCJGVSU
Obsidian | Level 7
Hello Everyone!

I am a SAS programmer still acclimating to the SAS Enterprise Guide environment. I am having several issues regarding authorizations that I think have the same root cause. I am trying to determine whether the resolution lies in the systems security or a SAS/Management Console.

Issue 1) I am able to create an RTF file and Right Click>Export the file to a public location, but I am not able to write ODS statements that would produce a file in that same location

ods rtf file="\\\psp.rtf";
ERROR: Insufficient authorization to access \\\psp.rtf.

Issue 2) Similarly I am unable to create a library using the LIBNAME statement for folders I know I have access to

libname temp "\\\Temp\";
ERROR: User does not have appropriate authorization level for library TEMP.

Issue 3) I can use the import wizard to read in a raw data .txt file but I am unable to write my own code. That is, SAS has an issue giving me access to the path I state in the INFILE statement. On a side note, I notice that EG generates code referencing a path to a tempory folder on the SAS server INFILE 'C:\Users\...\AppData\Local\Temp\SAS Temporary Files\_TD6316\#LN00380' so SAS must be creating a temporary copy on the SAS server?

In summary, I would say my problem revolves around SAS communicating with the network drives. While many tasks can be done using the GUI, I want the flexibility to write my own code in order to take advantage of macro programming to make the output more dynamic.

Any input would be much appreciated,

Chris
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
ChrisHemedinger
Community Manager