BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
deleted_user
Not applicable
Hello all:

I am relatively new to SAS/SAS-EG (about 5 months) so please bear with me if I have overlooked a simple solution.

Question 1: Is there a way in to force a List Report RTF output to one page width?
Please note: I have set the page orientation to landscape and have added headers/footers using the "Custom Code," if that would have any effect on potential solutions

Question 2: I would like to specify the internal order of a column in the Listing Report. I set the order using "Sort By" and it is correct in the Query, buy when I run the List Report Wizard, the column's values are rest to alphabetical order. For example:

Query:
COLUMN HEADER
C
A
B

Which is what I want. However, when I run the List Report Wizard I get:
COLUMN HEADER
A
B
C

Is there a way to force the C-A-B order to be preserved in the List Report?

Thank you in advance for any solutions or suggestions.
-Steven
3 REPLIES 3
Cynthia_sas
SAS Super FREQ
Hi:
By default, PROC REPORT, (which is the procedure "underneath" the List Report Wizard, will display items using the default ordering. Using code, there is a way to specify ORDER=DATA if your data have been pre-sorted to be the order you want.

However, in the List Report Wizard, I do not believe there is a way to alter the PROC REPORT code. If you edit the code created by the EG List Report Wizard, then you would have to change the DEFINE statement for your variable of interest. For example, if I had created a report using SASHELP.CLASS and I had already pre-sorted the data so that SEX and NAME were ordered in descending order, then I could tell PROC REPORT to preserve that order by changing the DEFINE statements to include ORDER=DATA:
[pre]
proc report .....;
column Sex Name Height Age ;
define Sex / group 'Sex' missing order=data;
define Name / order order=data;
.... more code ....
run;
[/pre]

cynthia