BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
GenDemo
Quartz | Level 8

Hi All

I know this is not a Python forum, but I am appealing to my fellow SAS users for advise, as I think you will understand what I mean and what I am after.
I am very new to Python, but a veteran SAS & SQL user.
My company doesn't want to dish out the money to get me a SAS licence, hence I am tying to learn Python. However, I am finding the data processing part of it immensely frustrating. This process is just highlighting to me (ONCE AGAIN) how awesome SAS (and SQL) is. 
Is there a way for me to do data processing in Python in a way which is similar to either SAS's data steps; or a SQL type query?
For example, I have CSV files that I generate from out DB or BI Tool, and export to use in Python for regression or time series analysis. I need to import this CSV, format columns and dates, do date calculations, lag functions etc. Then I might need to join data sets together. 
From here I need to do plots and then the statistical modelling itself - the plotting and modelling I can do in Python (though its not at the level I would like as I am used to in SAS).Is R perhaps a better tool to do this in? can I do my data processing in R, in Python and still use Python for the modelling?

i know this is a very open-ended and subjective question... but I'd greatly appreciate some advice.

4 REPLIES 4
SASKiwi
PROC Star

Another question to ask your company is whether they are happy for you to use unsupported software and indeed what is their policy regarding unsupported software? By that I mean having access to professional tech support, not getting questions answered on stackoverflow....

IMHO Python, R etc are fine for work that is not directly business-critical, but I wouldn't want to be doing actual business-critical work on unsupported software.

GenDemo
Quartz | Level 8
Yeah I totally agree with you - but its a moot point.