BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
catherinep178
Calcite | Level 5

Hi All, I am trying to use PROC IMPORT for an xls excel file with multiple sheets. The sheet names vary by xls and I wanted to use the sheet name as the dataset name. The problem is the sheet names contain blanks. I have cobbled together a few different codes but I am still stuck,  Please see my code below. The code runs without error but each time I change the data set name in the  PROC IMPORT to have either &SUF1. to &SUF4. the name just stays the same as the first memname. The Data _Null_ step is supposed to count the number of observations in this variable but its not working for me. Does anyone have any ideas? (PS I'm quite new to SAS and programming in general)

%MACRO import1Day_samples(sheet);
  libname xls excel 'V:\x\x_Data\x\Volume cases.xls';

data T(KEEP=MEMNAME SUF);
    set sashelp.vtable;
    where libname = 'XLS';
    SUF=compress(memname,'','p');
  run;

%LET SUF= ;
  DATA _NULL_ ;
    set t ;
    suffix=put(_n_,4.);
    CALL SYMPUT(cats('SUF',suffix), SUF); 
  run;

*import sheet 1 Whole blood for cases;
  PROC IMPORT OUT= WORK.CASES_SHIP5&SUF2.  DATAFILE= "V:\x\x_Data\x\Volume cases.xls" 
    DBMS=EXCEL REPLACE;
    RANGE="&sheet.$A3:K2700"; 
    GETNAMES=NO;
    MIXED=NO;
    SCANTEXT=YES;
    USEDATE=YES;
    SCANTIME=YES;
  RUN;

%MEND import1Day_samples;
*%import1Day_samples(Blood for DNA); *NOTE NEED TO MAKE &SUF1.;
*%import1Day_samples(Whole blood);*NOTE NEED TO MAKE &SUF2.;
*%import1Day_samples(Plasma); *NOTE NEED TO MAKE &SUF3.;
*%import1Day_samples(Serum); *NOTE NEED TO MAKE &SUF4.;

7 REPLIES 7
RW9
Diamond | Level 26 RW9
Diamond | Level 26