maddysbi
Calcite | Level 5

Hi Team,

I have an input dataset in the format as below :

ItemIDItemnameitemtypetypenameitemgroupgroupname
1ABCXXXXXXXXXXXA123XYZ
2DEFXXXXXXXXXXXA123XYZ
3GHIXXXXXXXXXXXB456ZZZ

I need to know the process where I need to use the SCD type 2 retained key for my primary key which is Item id and surrogate keys for type and group accordingly.How should I process with in a single job.I'm new to DI and not able to get the exact flow here.

Also,SCD type 2 sometimes gives an error saying "The variable in the DROP, KEEP, or RENAME list has never been referenced".Please help me.

Expected output is

itemrkitemiditemnametyperktypetypenamegrouprkgroupgroupname
11abc1xxxxxxxxxxx1a123xyz
22def1xxxxxxxxxxx1a123xyz
33ghi1xxxxxxxxxxx2b456zzz
6 REPLIES 6
LinusH
Tourmaline | Level 20

"The variable in the DROP, KEEP, or RENAME list has never been referenced": you give us nothing to work on here - what mapping and options have you set in the transform, are your target table and meta data registration equal?

About your expected (or rather desired?). SCD Type 2 Loader is able to generate one surrogate key per target table. It looks like you are trying do design a snow flake here. As a general advice, don't use snow flakes. If you still wish to have RK for your grouping levels - why do you have the name columns in the same table?

So still, to create RK for each grouping, have each group stored in separate dimensions (snow flakes), and then do a look up to populate the Item dimension.

Data never sleeps
maddysbi
Calcite | Level 5

Hi LinusH,