BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
baizura
Calcite | Level 5

Hello everyone. As I am new to SAS, therefore I’m not sure if SAS able to produce a specific information to external file.

The client that I work with requested me to produce a log file of each DI Job which contain

<Job name>,<start time>,<end time>,<job status>,<error code>,<error description>

The other requirement is to produce log file at specific folder and with specific file name format e.g.: LOG_<DDMMMYYYY>.txt

So far what I’ve done is; I add in below code in every transformation item that I use in my job

%let fileDate = %sysfunc(date(),DATE9.) ;

filename genfile "\\Exception\Log_&fileDate..txt"; /* Output Text File */

data _null_ ; /* No SAS data set is created */

FILE  genfile mod;

PUT  "1_SIT_FL_FACT_GPA,&etls_stepStartTime,& etls_endTime ,&syserr,&syscc,";

run ;

is there any other way to do this?? appreciate if anyone can help me on this... thanks in advanced.

regards

baizura

9 REPLIES 9
jakarman
Barite | Level 11

With DI you are into the BI/DI server environment.

These kind of questions are coming from regulations requirements (auditable/traceable). A lot of this is an extension to SIEM. SIEM is not in place with SAS is should be covered at the OS level.

Logging of events is better in place as there is a logging framework based on arm log4j.  The most easy way of implementing is using the APM tool (Audit and performance measurement).

Of course you can always build your own one (on premise solution).

---->-- ja karman --<-----
Patrick
Opal | Level 21

Don't use user written code for these requirements. That's really bad.

Never ever have hard coded root paths in your code (like: filename genfile "\\Exception\). That's also really bad.

Once DI jobs have been deployed they are run in batch. Normally a scheduler is used for this batch processing. Bigger organisations have such things already implemented - inclusive job monitoring - so you don't need to re-invent the wheel here.