BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
saslearning1
Calcite | Level 5

I am a newbie to SAS.

I have around 100 observations in a variable and i want to take them into macro variable. And then i want to use one name at a time with the loop. That means i am using loop in macro so i use name1 in 1 iteration, then name2 in 2 iteration and name3 in 3rd iteration and so on.

For ex: variable Name have 5 names

Smith

John

Sam

Michael

Chen.

When i run macro with parameter name and loop it for five iteration. Then it should take Smith in one iteration and John in second.

Thanks in advance.

12 REPLIES 12
PeterClemmensen
Tourmaline | Level 20

What does your macro do?

Usually with this kind of problem it is easier to use simple data step logic, since the data step already 'loops' through the names in the Name variable.

saslearning1
Calcite | Level 5
Hi Draycut, Thanks for reply.

I am trying to send dynamic e-mail using SAS. where Name will be dynamic in E-mail body. So for this i am taking Name variable into a macro variable.

I will be sending 5 e-mails with the name change in every e-mail.
PeterClemmensen
Tourmaline | Level 20

though I agree with @RW9, I am curious as to see what your macro look like? 🙂

saslearning1
Calcite | Level 5

It should look like this:

%macro test(names);
%do i=2 %to 5;
data _null_;
FILE Mailbox TO = abc@gmail.com
subject=&names.;
PUT "Dear ALL";
PUT " My name is";
run;
%end;
%mend;

%test(names);

my objective is to send five e-mail to abc@gmail with Subject line with name varibale. First e-mail with subject Smith, second with John and so on.

Kurt_Bremser
Super User

Do not use macro variables for list data. That's what datasets are for.

%macro test(name);

filename mailbox email "abc@gmail.com" subject="&name";

data _null_;
file mailbox;
put "Dear ALL";
put " My name is &name";
run;

filename mailbox clear;

%mend;

data names;
input name $10.;
cards;
Smith
John
;
run;

data _null_;
set names;
call execute('%test(' !! trim(name) !! ');');
run;