BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Louis_Gallo_CIGNA_com
Calcite | Level 5

(Apologies if I am not in the right forum)

I am a SAS novice at best. I use something like this to import a csv file with server statistics. I used the import wizard in SE

DATA WORK.Server_Name_Exported;

LENGTH

'Time:Date'n 8

'Time:Time'n 8

System $10

Resource $5

'%busy'n 8

'reads/s'n 8

'writes/s'n 8

'r+w/s'n 8

avserv 8

avwait 8

'KB write/s'n 8

'KB read/s'n 8

avque 8 ;

LABEL

System ="SystemName" ;

FORMAT

'Time:Date'n MMDDYY10.

'Time:Time'n TIME8.

System $CHAR10.

Resource $CHAR5.

'%busy'n BEST10.

'reads/s'n BEST10.

'writes/s'n BEST10.

'r+w/s'n BEST10.

avserv BEST10.

avwait BEST10.

'KB write/s'n BEST10.

'KB read/s'n BEST10.

avque BEST10. ;

INFORMAT

'Time:Date'n MMDDYY10.

'Time:Time'n TIME11.

System $CHAR10.

Resource $CHAR5.

'%busy'n BEST10.

'reads/s'n BEST10.

'writes/s'n BEST10.

'r+w/s'n BEST10.

avserv BEST10.

avwait BEST10.

'KB write/s'n BEST10.

'KB read/s'n BEST10.

avque BEST10. ;

INFILE 'Exported_Linux_Device_Partition.txt'

DELIMITER=','

MISSOVER

DSD

FIRSTOBS=2 ;

INPUT

'Time:Date'n : ?? MMDDYY8.

'Time:Time'n : ?? TIME8.

System : $CHAR10.

Resource : $CHAR5.

'%busy'n : ?? COMMA10.

'reads/s'n : ?? COMMA10.

'writes/s'n : ?? COMMA10.

'r+w/s'n : ?? COMMA10.

avserv : ?? COMMA10.

avwait : ?? COMMA10.

'KB write/s'n : ?? COMMA10.

'KB read/s'n : ?? COMMA10.

avque : ?? COMMA10. ;

RUN;

My issue that this works great for a format of CSV file where the field names are ALWAYS IN THE SAME ORDER.

Is there a way to import CSV data with field names, and not have to worry if the field order changes or if fields get added?

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks,

Lou

5 REPLIES 5
Reeza
Super User
Not a robust way, you can use proc import with DBMS = CSV but it guesses at data types and doesn't always guess correctly.
RW9
Diamond | Level 26 RW9
Diamond | Level 26