BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Spf2010
Calcite | Level 5
I am new to sas. I am trying to figure out how to import every excel file in a folder without naming each file.(apox 100) Also there is one sheet I am looking to grab from every file and combine them into one data set. I have done a lot of research but nothing has worked.
11 REPLIES 11
Reeza
Super User

Here's one approach. 

https://github.com/statgeek/SAS-Tutorials/blob/master/Import_all_files_one_type

However, in my experience this won't work overall because when you use PROC IMPORT it guesses at types and the types will not be match across all files unless you happen to have really clean files. 

If you can convert them to CSV and customize the import procedure that's most likely to be the best way. In fact if it's all text files you can read them all at once into a single file relatively easily. 

@Spf2010 wrote:
I am new to sas. I am trying to figure out how to import every excel file in a folder without naming each file.(apox 100) Also there is one sheet I am looking to grab from every file and combine them into one data set. I have done a lot of research but nothing has worked.

SuryaKiran
Meteorite | Level 14

You can use x-commands to read the files in a folder and then import. If you don't have access to run x-commands then the following approach might work for you.

FILENAME _folder_ "%bquote(/usr/folder/)";/* Your path here */
data filenames(keep=memname);
FORMAT memname $100.;
  handle=dopen( '_folder_' );
  if handle > 0 then do;
    count=dnum(handle);
    do i=1 to count;
      memname=dread(handle,i);
      output filenames;
    end;
  end;
  rc=dclose(handle);
run;
filename _folder_ clear;

The above program reads all the files that are in the folder. No you can use the logic to filter your files (ie. by extensions or file names or etc.). Put those names in a macro using PROC SQL INTO .

/* Count total files in the location and add all the file names into a macro */
PROC SQL noprint;