BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
jordkeen
Calcite | Level 5

I am new to SAS (Stata and R user), but I have a very large dataset with SAS input statements provided so I want to use it at least to prepare and clean the data. I'm using SAS 9.4. 

I have a group of zipped text files that are of identical format but split into different files and zipped separately. I'm looking for an efficient way to read them all in together just stacked on top of one another so I can apply a set of input statements provided for them. 

Ex. of file naming structure

dme2010.file01.txt.gz

dme2010.file02.txt.gz

dme2010.file03.txt.gz

dme2011.file01.txt.gz

dme2011.file02.txt.gz

dme2011.file03.txt.gz

Each zip file contains just a single text file of the same name (ie dme2010.file01.txt.gz contains just dme2010.file01.txt). I am not able to extract the text files because they are read-only and this can't be changed.

I have tried using wildcards like below, but this just runs the input statements and doesn't grab any of the observations:

filename dmein pipe 'gzip -dc H:\Data\Seerm\Drive1\dme*.txt.gz';
filename dmeinput 'input lines';

data dme;
  infile dmein lrecl=635 missover pad;
  %include dmeinput;
run;

I have about 250 different text files to read in over different years over file numbers, but the data provider has provided SAS input statements that apply to all of them. 

What is the best way to read in all of these text files so I can apply the input statements code to them all at once?

Thanks in advance,

Jordan

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Reeza
Super User

1) is it even possible to have a macro like this?

Yes

2) how do I reference the path in the filename statement?

You're currently using single quotes, macro variables resolve in double quotes. Switch it to double quotes.