BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
bolleau
Calcite | Level 5

I am a novice writing my first program and am stuck in regards to fomatting rules when creating new output data. This should be pretty simple I am thinking

I have an input external file which contains among other things a date and a client, app, and an account number defined as;

000081 INPUT                                  

000082  @    1 CLIENT      3.                 

000083  @    5 LNTYP       3.                 

000084  @    9 PYFCOFCD   $2.                 

000085  @   12 OGLDSBDT    8.                 

000086  @   12 OGLDSBCC    4.                 

000087  @   16 OGLDSBMM    2.                 

000088  @   21 APP         2.                 

000089  @   24 LN         13.                 

000090  @   38 PRICUSNM  $30.                

OGLDSBDT contains 20140214     (YYCCMMDD format)

CLIENT contains 111, APP contains 22 and LN contains 3333333333333

I want to create a new file where the date will be formatted as 2014/02 where the '/' s included and the DD portion of the date is dropped.

For the CLIENT, APP and LN I want to create a single field that will be formatted like so 111-22-3333333333333.

These fields will be 'PUT' to an external extract file.

The book I am using has no examples that show how I can perform formats such as these.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Tom
Super User Tom
Super User

Do you want to create a new text file or would you rather have a SAS dataset?

Are you id variables like CLIENT really numbers?  Even if they are all digits you might be better served to treat them as character strings.  For example what if I am APP number 1.  Should that be '1', ' 1', or '01' ?

You can use YYMMS7. format to print a date as YYYY/MM .  So you should read in the dates as an actual date using YYMMDD8. informat instead of treating it as a 8 digit number.