BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
cbasah
Calcite | Level 5

Hi,

I am new to OLAP and have been trying create a large OLAP cube from SAS ABM.

The fact table has about 150 million rows. 16 dimensions, each having on average 3-level hierarchies and not more than 4 levels.

The OLAP server runs on a machine with the following specs:

- 8 core

- 32 gb of memory

- 500 GB dedicated disk for tempdb

- underlying RDBMS is MSSQL

I face 2 problems in generating the cube with the following settings:

1) Aggregation with index

- the 500gb-tempdb gets maximised causing a cube generation to stop with tempdb full error

2) No aggregation index (NOINDEX option applied to PROC OLAP)

- the tempdb does not max out and grows up to approximately 200 gb

- however,the OLAP cube generation runs for more than 8 hours before ending with a "...Class selection..." error

- SQL is telling me that:

- there are 100 parallel threads each doing the same select statement of the entire fact table

- each statement is suspended with CXPACKET wait types

- Window Perfmon is telling me that:

- tempdb disk queue length of about 0.8 to 1.2

- disk write is on average is 8mb/s and disk writes on average is 32mb/s

- Page life expetancy of about 220 (An MS SQL 2005 recommends > 300)

I believe all the above are happening due to the size of our fact table. Reducing dimensions is not an option due to business requirements. I was thinking of splitting the fact table into smaller tranches where each selection query can fit into memory and avoid going into disk i/o. Appreciate insights/ advice on the above problems.

Thanks.

2 REPLIES 2
LinusH
Tourmaline | Level 20

The first question that comes into mind is, do you really need all 150'' rows in the cube?

Maybe, some detail level could be accessible via drill-through?

Is the fact table aggregated to the lowest level of the dimensions? If not, try to summarize it before the PROC OLAP.

If yes, are you using COMPACT_NWAY? Try without it.