BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
H
Pyrite | Level 9 H
Pyrite | Level 9

I am looking to pull all observations that have a particular numeric value in at least one of the listed variables. Though I do not want to have to write all of the variables out. I have tried dx1-50 and also a macro to no success. See following for examples:

proc print data=test;

where dx1-dx50 = 808.44;

var sex;

run;

or

%let vars = dx1-50;

proc print data=test;

where  &vars = 808.44;

var sex;

run;

quit;

Perhaps it needs an "or"?  I am still messing around with options but may need some help. I also believe this could be done in proc sql, but I am not experienced with that procedure.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Ksharp
Super User

stat@sas , you can do it simpler by using IN operator.

data test;

set have;

array vars{*} dx1-dx50;

if 808.44 in vars ;

run;

Xia Keshan

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9
Reeza
Super User

Look at the whichn function for numbers and whichc for characters.

SAS(R) 9.2 Language Reference: Dictionary, Fourth Edition.

stat_sas
Ammonite | Level 13

Hi,

Just create a variable check that will be increased if any of the variables defined in the array has value 808.44. Then select observations based on check variable.

data test;
set have;
check=0;
array vars{*} dx1-dx50;
do i=1 to dim(vars);
if vars{i}=808.44 then check+1;
end;
run;

proc print data=test;
where check>0;
run;

Ksharp
Super User

stat@sas , you can do it simpler by using IN operator.

data test;

set have;

array vars{*} dx1-dx50;

if 808.44 in vars ;

run;

Xia Keshan

H
Pyrite | Level 9 H
Pyrite | Level 9

Great options. Yesterday I ended up using the option that was removed from this thread. Though, Ksharp's seems to be very concise.