BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Gilles74
Calcite | Level 5
Hi everybody. My apologies for my lack of knowledge in SAS but I am new to this.

I am leading a regulatory project that has a side effect on a SAS environment.

Our company has decided to encrypt some sensitive data in a source database. The side effect is that these data are also exported to the company data warehouse. This data warehouse is accessed/analysed/queried using SAS enterprise guide.

It has been decided to keep these data encrypted in the data warehouse. This cannot be challenged.

Users use SAS Enterprise guide to query the data warehouse in sql.

We have corporate APIs available to get the data decrypted.

I would like to understand what is that he best approach the get the result sets of the sql queries dynamically decrypted using our APIs.

It doesn’t seem that SAS enterprise guide is a good candidate for executing the transformation. I kind of understand that it is possible to use integration scripts or programs in connection with sas metadata server. But this is too new to me.

I would be more than grateful if somebody could point me to the right direction, so that I can understand how I can achieve this.

Our APIs.can be called using java, c or rest services. We can write integration components if necessary.

Many thanks in advance

Gilles
8 REPLIES 8
jklaverstijn
Rhodochrosite | Level 12

For bulk work I would suggest to take the C road. Have a look at the MODULE() set of functions/call routines in association with the SASCBTBL specification. This would allow for small to large volume decryption in datastep and SQL alike. Java would be my second choice. REST is also possible but does not scale well. 

Regards,

- Jan

Gilles74
Calcite | Level 5

Thank you for your answer. The bulk work will be performed by the ETL when the data are exported to the data warehouse. So no bulk need in SAS.