BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Betsy
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi all, it's my first time posting here. 

I have 8 datasets each with 800+ variables that I am trying to stack. I am getting "ERROR: Variable X has been defined as both character and numeric." 

I know that this error comes from some of the datasets defining this variable as character and some as numeric. 

However, with such a large number of variables (the error occurs on at least 400 of them) it's impractical to switch each variable using put/input. 

I am wondering if anyone has a solution that fixes a large number of these errors relatively quickly. 

Thank you!! 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Patrick
Opal | Level 21

Proc Import will create data types (numeric or character) and lengths of the data based on what's in your external file. Proc Import will first analyse your data to determine the appropriate attributes. Make sure you use Guessingrow=Max so Proc Import analysis all data.

But even if doing so: If in your first .csv the maximum string length found for a column is 5 but in your next .csv it's 10 then you'll still have a truncation issue when combining the tables created by Proc Import.

Assuming all your .csv have the same structure (same column order) you could also first combine all the external data and then read it with a single Proc Import.

That's what below code is doing.

/* create sample .csv */
%let path_to_csv=%sysfunc(pathname(work));
data _null_;
  file "&path_to_csv/have1.csv";
  put 'col1,col2,col3,col4,col5';
  put 'a,bbb,5, 01jan2020,1234';

file "&path_to_csv/have2.csv";
  put 'xx,9,yy,01feb2020,5678';
  stop;
run;

/* combine sample .csv into a single temporary file
   and store this temporary file in SAS Work
*/
filename alldata temp;
data _null_;
  file alldata lrecl=4000;
  infile datalines truncover;
  input fil2read $300.;