BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
HeidiDT
Quartz | Level 8

Hi All

I am brand new to Data Remediation and need some help with getting started. Our design is as follows (steps 1-3 have already been developed, I need help with the following steps):

1. Data Quality assessment is run to identify any records that violate business rules

2. These records are written to a SQL table and surfaced in a view (v_AllRuleViolations)

3. SAS code is run to derive suggested remediation values for these rule violations, and the relevant data is written to a SQL table (Remediation)

4. Violation records, together with the suggested remediation value, are extracted from the Remediation table and sent to SAS Data Remediation

5. Workflow is instantiated:

• Data Steward accepts or rejects suggested remediation
    • Accept:
      • Remediation table updated (FinalRemediation=SuggestedRemediation and ProcessedDttm populated with current date and time)
      • SQL script is invoked to apply final remediation to source data
    • Reject:
      • (Optional) Data Steward enters alternative remediation: populates Remediation table (AlternativeRemediation)
      • Enters reason for rejection: populates Rejection table (Rejector = username, RejectionReason = reason entered, ValueRejected=SUGGESTED and RejectedDttm=current date and time)
      • Workflow advances to next task:
        • Alerts data owner
        • Data owner may accept or reject either the suggested or alternative remediation, suggest another remediation or reject all remediation suggestions
          • Accept suggested remediation
            • Populates Remediation table (FinalRemediation = SuggestedRemediation, ProcessedDttm = current date and time)
            • Invokes SQL script to apply Remediation.FinalRemediation to source data
          • Accept alternative remediation
            • Populates Remediation table (FinalRemediation = AlternativeRemediation, ProcessedDttm = current date and time)