BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
gphunt
Fluorite | Level 6

Platform is Windows.  I'm totally new to SAS DM products.  Do these two products follow the same model that SAS EG uses wherein it can be switched between a local and a Metadata Server connection?  

Thanks.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
AngusLooney
SAS Employee

So, DI Studio is a client/server only application, only talks to a Metadata Server, and executes code on a SAS server that the MDS assigns you to. Quite happy connecting to multiple different MDS, but only one at a time, could potentially run code on multiple compute servers, either via Grid, or if the MDS presents multiple compute servers.

Data Management Studio can run "locally" and connect to a Data Management Server, and switch between the two "modes". Note that both Data Management Studio, and Data Management Server are not directly using the SAS engine, but can read and write datasets.

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
AngusLooney
SAS Employee

So, DI Studio is a client/server only application, only talks to a Metadata Server, and executes code on a SAS server that the MDS assigns you to. Quite happy connecting to multiple different MDS, but only one at a time, could potentially run code on multiple compute servers, either via Grid, or if the MDS presents multiple compute servers.

Data Management Studio can run "locally" and connect to a Data Management Server, and switch between the two "modes". Note that both Data Management Studio, and Data Management Server are not directly using the SAS engine, but can read and write datasets.

gphunt
Fluorite | Level 6

Thank you Angus!  This is the clearest picture I've gotten so far. Besides the MetaData Server (which we already have), what other software do we have to have running on the compute servers for the DI Studio to connect to?  (i.e. exactly what do I request?)