BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
ChrisO147
Calcite | Level 5

I am trying to create a new external file from a csv using DI Studio 4.901. I am not a programmer, nor do I understand how to write code. The csv file contains CR in the headers and both CR and blank lines in some of the fields, which causes issues...bumping text to the right and therefore ending up with the data all skewed. I have almost managed to solve the header problem by using TERMSTR=CRLF but, for some strange reason, the headers stop suddenly in the middle of a column name... In addition, some of the columns have CR and Blanks....e.g. all the attached is supposed to be in one cell

Your help would be appreciated but please keep the tech speak to a minimum 😞

thank you

10 REPLIES 10
Tom
Super User Tom
Super User

I don't know anything about DI, but the theory behind trying to use TERMSTR=CRLF is based on how SAS processes delimited text files (like CSV files).  Some software (like Excel) will handle delimited files with embedded line breaks IF the value is quoted.  The basic SAS method for reading a text cannot do that.  But if your real data lines end with the CR+LF combination (the way that Windows machines make text files) and the embedded line breaks in the middle of a cell value are using only one of those two character then SAS will be able to read the file.  This works because the single CR (or single LF) in the middle of the line it treated the same as any other character.  Note that when this works those CR (or LF) will be in the value of the variable. You will probable what to convert them to space or some other character before trying to display them.

But if your source file does NOT use CR+LF to mark the end of lines. OR it DOES include CR+LF in the middle of a cell value then that solution will not work.