BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
jerry898969
Pyrite | Level 9

Hello,

I'm very new to ODS and i'm trying to create an automated process that will take multiple data sets and create a pdf file displaying the meta of the data.

Is there a way through ODS to know how many observations a data set has?  I want to show the users that the data they created has n rows, without having to create a seperate query or data set to have the count value. 

Thank you

12 REPLIES 12
Cynthia_sas
SAS Super FREQ

Hi:

I'm confused about what you want. You ask whether there is "a way through ODS to know how many observations a data set has"? And the answer is yes, but then you say "without having to create a separate query or data set to have the count value"? You'd have to at least run SOMETHING, because ODS OUTPUT can capture the output from PROC CONTENTS about the number of observations, but ODS OUTPUT would create a dataset, and that's what you say you don't want to do. But using ODS OUTPUT for this is like killing flies with a sledgehammer. It is far easier to write an SQL query against one of the DICTIONARY tables and make a macro variable -- you don't need ODS with PROC SQL to make a macro variable. But then you HAVE a macro variable to use anywhere -- in an ODS step, in a DATA step program, in a TITLE statement. ODS, by itself, has no "magic" way of getting the observation count. ODS OUTPUT creates a data set from a procedure; and ODS destinations create output files. Nothing about ODS goes straight to the descriptor portion of the data set.

The code below doesn't seem too troublesome to me. What is the issue with something like this?

Cynthia

proc sql noprint;

select nobs into :numobs

from dictionary.tables

where libname = "SASHELP" and

memname = "CARS";

quit;

ods _all_ close;

%put how many cars = &numobs;

ods html file='c:\temp\shownum.html';

proc print data=sashelp.cars(obs=10);

title "Showing 10 obs of &numobs";

var make model type msrp;

run;

ods html close;