BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
Tushar
Obsidian | Level 7

Hi ,

can anyone please please please guide me, how some one can create SAS job using base sas or SAS EG4.2? i mean i am really not clear with job concept all i know is strored process but i heard that in most of the reporting work we need to write some sas program and then again need to create job of it and need to run on schedule time. i mean i just want to know suppose i am having one sas program which connect to database and apply some logic and create report in doc format, so is there anyway i can create job of it and let it run on scedule timing. Please guide me. Help on this really appreciated. I am new in SAS though i know a little thing.i am a .net programmmer. Again Thanks in Advanced.

2 REPLIES 2
Cynthia_sas
SAS Super FREQ

Hi:

Generally, folks talk about stored processes and SAS particularly when SAS is installed in the context of the Platform for Business Analytics (also known as the BI Platform). Sometimes, a companion piece of the BI Platform is DI (Data Integration) Studio, in which you can create jobs (for example, you might have a job to read a transaction file, validate the transactions and then load the transactions into a data warehouse) and then schedule DI jobs (such as scheduling the update job) using the Platform Scheduler.

Even without the BI Platform, however, with a BASE SAS installation, it has always been possible to automate the submission of a SAS program in background or "batch" mode.  If all you have is Base SAS and EG (without the BI Platform), then you should look in the SAS Companion documentation for your operating system (SAS Companion for Windows, SAS Companion for Unix, etc) for information on how to create the equivalent of a .bat file or a .cmd file in order to run a program.