BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
bkq32
Quartz | Level 8

I'm new to the x command and am following a previous employee's code that copies a file (thedata.mdb) from a location on their A drive to a new folder on their A drive.

option noxwait;

x "net use /yes A:\\HOST\SHARE\PATH1";
x "cd PATH2\'My Studies'\SAS";

x "md quarterly&sysdate";
%let foldername=quarterly&sysdate;
x "cd PATH2\'My Studies'\SAS&foldername";

x "md site1";

x %unquote(%str(%"copy A:\\HOST\SHARE\DATA\thedata.mdb
                  \\PATH2\'My Studies'\SAS\&foldername\site1%"));

I have read-only access to the A drive, so how do I modify this program so that the file is copied from their A drive to a newly created folder on my B drive (B:\\HOST\SHARE\site1\mydata.mdb)? I'd also like the the quarterly folder directory to be B:\\HOST\SHARE\quarterly20OCT19.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
bkq32
Quartz | Level 8

Thank you, everyone. I ended up doing this:

option noxwait;

%let foldername=quarterly&systdate;

x "md B:\HOST\SHARE\site1";
x "md B:\HOST\SHARE\&foldername";
x %unquote(%str(%'copy A:\HOST\SHARE\site1\thedata.mdb
                       B:\HOST\SHARE\site1\thedata.mdb%')); /* The actual path has spaces */

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
Jagadishkatam
Amethyst | Level 16

Could you please try the below code

x "cp A:\\HOST\SHARE\DATA\thedata.mdb   \\PATH2\'My Studies'\SAS\&foldername\site1";
Thanks,
Jag
Kurt_Bremser
Super User

You should run all your external commands with the filename pipe method to see the responses:

filename oscmd pipe "net use /yes A:\\HOST\SHARE\PATH1 2>&1";

data _null_;
infile oscmd;
input;
put _infile_;
run;

You can see all responses (standard and error output) in the SAS log. This makes it easier to diagnose each single command.

keen_sas
Quartz | Level 8