BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
jpate242
Calcite | Level 5

Hello,

I'm brand new to SAS and coding in general. I tried searching on youtube and all the other place on "how to import txt file into sas studio" but nothing is helpful. Can you guys tell me how can I read the txt file on the studio? Also is it possible to have csv and txt files on the same edition(code)?

if so, what are the steps?

Thanks,

6 REPLIES 6
Tom
Super User Tom
Super User

How are you using SAS/Studio?  Are you using it to connect to the free SAS University Edition of SAS running in a virtual machine?  Or are you using a commercial version.  If the later where is the SAS that you are connecting to with SAS/Studio running?  Is it PC SAS running on your machine? Or SAS running somewhere else?

What do you mean be IMPORTING a file?  Are you wondering how to place the file where you SAS code (and SAS/Studio interface) can find it?  Or are you already able to find the file and are wondering about how convert it into a SAS dataset so that you can use it for analysis?

jpate242
Calcite | Level 5

Im using it through the VM and running the sas studio. I would like to use the infile and iput to read the file. 

Tom
Super User Tom
Super User

@jpate242 wrote:

Im using it through the VM and running the sas studio. I would like to use the infile and iput to read the file. 

In that case the easiest way to get the files where SAS can see them is to put them into the folder (directory) on your machine that you shared with the VM.  Then SAS will see them under the location /folders/myfolders/ that you setup when you configured the VM.

There is also an UPLOAD menu item in the SAS/Studio interface to help with moving files from the machine you are using to connect to the SAS/Studio interface and the machine where SAS is running.  But it is not needed here since the VM is on the same machine so it can immediately see any file you place into the right location.