BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
☑ This topic is solved. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
M_Gielen
Calcite | Level 5

I am a novice using macros. I want to perform mediation analysis and want to use the PROCESS macro by A. Hayes.

While using the macro I get the error: use &data; ERROR 22-322: Expecting a name.

Line generated by the invoked macro "PROCESS".
43 use &data;

ERROR 22-322: Expecting a name.

how do I solve this?

Thanks,

Marij

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Patrick
Opal | Level 21

For using SAS macros you first need to compile the macro definition. This is done by running the code that's between %macro <name of the macro>;... and %mend;

Once the macro has been compiled you can use it. You call a macro by using %<name of the macro>

I've downloaded the macro from https://www.processmacro.org/download.html . The code contains the macro definition AND a sample macro call.

Here the sample macro call:

%process (data=test,activate=1);

Looking into the macro definition I find:

use &data;

I assume you called the macro without providing a value for macro parameter data= and though in the code the macro variable &data resolved to nothing which then caused the error due to a USE command without any table name.

29         %process (activate=1);
NOTE: IML Ready
NOTE: Line generated by the invoked macro "PROCESS".
29                          use &data;
                                     _

It appears that to use this macro you need training or at least access and a read of the documentation. 

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3
Quentin
Super User

Hi,

We need more information to help.  Can you share the macro definition (i.e. the code that creates the macro)?  Can you turn on the option MPRINT, and then run your code, and post the full log starting with the macro call?