BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
vitalizer
Calcite | Level 5

Hello,

I am very very new in SAS, knowing al little bit in VBA and so I have some difficulties with arrays.

My problem: I importet data from Excel. Two columns. The first colum  called "orginal" has numbers from 1 to 45. The second one called "replace" has also numers from 1 to 45 but in an other order as the column original.

My intended goal ist making an array original(1) with the first number in the column "original", original(2) with the 2nd one, and so on up to original(45). Even so an array replace(1) up to replace(45).

I managed it,  if I transpose the data in Excel in one row and name the first column original1, original 2 the 2nd and so on an make an array (45) original1-original45.

Is there a way in SAS to do so without transposing? I have many many columns in my datas and don't want 2x45 rows adding there. I need the variables for exchanging values.It works wit 45 orders in SAS, but I want to make the code more clear and easy reding with a loop, and therefor I need the variables.

I spend hours till I saw this Community. I hope someone can help me

This ist my code I did it without array variables:

vitalizer_0-1614202017167.png

this ist the excel-part:

vitalizer_1-1614202129054.png

(this is a one with only 11 datas, I think this shows how it is ment)

Thank you very much

5 REPLIES 5
Reeza
Super User
Post an example of what you have and what you want as an output. Arrays in SAS don't have the same context as in VBA or other languages and usually won't do what you want if you're thinking along those lines.
Shmuel
Garnet | Level 18

data have;

input org rep $;

cards;

1 A

2 B

3 C

4 D

; run;

%let dim=4; /* adapt to your input = 45 */

data want;

length rep1-rep&dim $3; /* adapt to max length of REP */

set have end=eof;

array or {*} org1-org&dim; 

array rp {*} $ rep1-rep&dim;

or(_N_) = org;

rp(_N_) = rep;

if eof then output;

run;

vitalizer
Calcite | Level 5

Hello Shmuel,