BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
sophie07
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi,

I'm really new to SAS and i am required to create a dataset that appends a csv file daily.

The csv file is dropped onto a location daily with the following naming convention: sample_set_20191114.csv

Is there a way for me to run through the directory daily and automatically pick up and append the latest file to my 'sample' dataset using the date in the file name? or any other way to achieve this.

All formats are exactly the same.

Any reading material that could assist with this would be appreciated.

I have created the following example of a dataset:

data sample;
infile '\\mylocation\sample.csv'
delimiter=','
missover
firstobs=2
DSD
lrecl = 32767;

format make $7. ;
format model $15. ;

input
make $
model $

;
run;

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
novinosrin
Tourmaline | Level 20

@sophie07   Taking into account, your daily files have a date suffix formatted as yymmddn8.,A way to approach this by dynamic date macro.

For example

228  %let today=%sysfunc(today(),yymmddn8.);
230  %put &=today;
TODAY=20191114

You can add the &today suffix in your infile statement placeholder. So when the code executes on a daily basis, your macro variable will have that corresponding date

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9
novinosrin
Tourmaline | Level 20

@sophie07   Taking into account, your daily files have a date suffix formatted as yymmddn8.,A way to approach this by dynamic date macro.

For example

228  %let today=%sysfunc(today(),yymmddn8.);
230  %put &=today;
TODAY=20191114

You can add the &today suffix in your infile statement placeholder. So when the code executes on a daily basis, your macro variable will have that corresponding date

sophie07
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi!

thanks so much for the response. 

could you explain how i do the append step?