BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
laiguanyu001
Fluorite | Level 6

Hi,

I was wondering if I could add log message to a dataset

I'am using the macro VarExists(ds,var) as an example:

%macro VarExist(ds,var);

%local rc dsid result;

%let dsid = %sysfunc(open(&ds));

%if %sysfunc(varnum(&dsid, &var)) > 0 %then %do;

%let result = 1;

%put Note: Var &var exists in %ds;

%end;

%else %do;

%let result = 0;

%put Note: Var &var not exists in &ds;

%end;

%let rc = %sysfunc(close(&dsid));

&result

%mend VarExists;

%varexist(sashelpclass, aaa);

I have little knowledge in SAS, but what I want (I will write a pseudo code below) is 

if result = 1:

do nothing

if result = 0:

data want;

input message $;

datalines;

Note: Var &var not exists in &ds  \* here &var and &ds will be the macro input*\

;

so there will be a final dataset that looks like this:

var aaa not exists in sashelp.class

Is there a way to do this? Thanks!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
ballardw
Super User

If you want a data set with a single record and variable it is likely easier to just assign a value to the variable instead of using data lines and you can't actually use macro variables in data lines.

data want;
   message = "Note: Var &var. does not exist in &ds.";
run;

If you want to ADD this, as a different record to an existing data set then 1) make a temporary data set as above and 2) append the temporary set to the final data set. Your requirement isn't quite clear on the desired output.

The data step would go in the same place as the %let result =0; in the example code to create that WANT data set.

But you might describe what problem you are actually attempting to solve has this seems to be pretty convoluted approach to getting such a message into a data set.