BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
cosmid
Lapis Lazuli | Level 10

Hi, I'm studying for my SAS Base certification exam using the 5th edition of the SAS Prep Guide. I got a little confused on page 50, 51, and 52. I was wondering if there's anyone out there that's also studying for the exam can help me out.

Page 50: This got me confused on Page 51

It's given an example of an Excel worksheet with only two sheets named Tests and Adv.

libname certxl XLSX 'C:\Users\Student1\cert\exercise.xlsx';

Page 51:

It's given an example to use the SET statement to indicate which worksheet in the Excel file you want to read.

data work.stress;

set certxl.ActivityLevels;

run;

I am confused of where this worksheet ActivityLevels is coming from. If I understand it right, the libref certxl is pointing to a single Excel file with only two worksheets named Tests and Adv. If someone can help me explain this that would be great.

Page 52:

Here's exactly what was in the book...

In the following example, the PROC PRINT statement refers to the worksheet Boot Sales and prints the contents of the Excel worksheet that was referenced by the SAS/ACCESS LIBNAME statement.

libname certxl xlsx 'C:\Users\Student1\cert\stock.xlsx';

proc print data=cerxl.'boots stock'n;

run;

Question regarding Page 52:

Is that a typo in the print statement? Should the print statement be

proc print data=cerxl.'Boot Sales'n;

If someone can help me clarify these that would be great. Thanks in advance!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
ballardw
Super User

1. Page 50, it said libref Certxl is created, wouldn't Certxl be a lowercase as certxl

LIBREF and FILEREF are case insensitive in SAS. The following will all work to point to the same data set inside SAS code.

SASHELP.Class

sashelp.class

sasHelp.class