BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
mcmaxwell
Fluorite | Level 6

Hello, I am new to SAS Studio and would appreciate any help/information! 

For my research I have many different CSV files that contain different variables. Below is an example of the code I might use to merge these files: 

/** outer full merge the data **/ 
data new; 
	update gb20 (in=left) PLTL (in=right); 
	by SUID; 
	run;

/** left merge the data **/ 
data new; 
	by SUID;
	if left;
	run;

/** right merge the data **/ 
data new; 
	by SUID;
	if right;
	run;

/** inner merge the data **/ 
data new; 
	by SUID;
	if left and right;
	run;

Where "gb20" and "PLTL" are the names of the data sets, "new" is the name of the newly merged data set, and "SUID" is the key.  

Now, let's say there is a third data set called "demo" that I want to merge with "gb20" and "PLTL" as well. Is there a way that I can merge all three data sets in one step? Or, do I need to add them together one by one? (See example below)

/** outer full merge the data again **/  
data full;  
	update demo (in=left) new (in=right);  
	by SUID;  
	run;

Thanks in advance! 

2 REPLIES 2
ballardw
Super User

@mcmaxwell wrote:

Hello, I am new to SAS Studio and would appreciate any help/information! 

For my research I have many different CSV files that contain different variables. Below is an example of the code I might use to merge these files: 

/** outer full merge the data **/ 
data new; 
	by SUID; 
	run;

/** left merge the data **/ 
data new; 
	by SUID;
	if left;
	run;

/** right merge the data **/ 
data new; 
	by SUID;
	if right;
	run;

/** inner merge the data **/ 
data new; 
	by SUID;
	if left and right;
	run;

Where "gb20" and "PLTL" are the names of the data sets, "new" is the name of the newly merged data set, and "SUID" is the key.