BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Calyn
Fluorite | Level 6

Hello, I know the title isn't very clear and I apologize for that and here is some info to help make what I'm asking about make more sense:

I am a first-semester student in a social science/human ecology PhD program, so I am looking at behaviors and outcomes and pretty new to this. I am using a secondary dataset and I am trying to create a scale variable (that has been created and used this way in other research- though was concerned with a different outcome/relationships. Including using the same secondary data I am using- though from a different wave of the data). I am not concerned with the degree to which a certain behavior or circumstance is present, just whether or not it is present and the effect of that on a particular outcome.

Right now I have created 10 binary dummy variables that are either 0 or 1 (0=behavior/circumstance is not present, 1=behavior/circumstance is present). I want to now create a new variable that will add up the dummy variables to have a value of 0-10, so that in the end the variable will represent a score from 0-10. I just am not sure how to do that from here.

Thank you for any help/direction.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Astounding
PROC Star
Do you mean this? In a DATA step:

new_varuable = sum(of dummy1-dummy10);

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
Astounding
PROC Star
Do you mean this? In a DATA step:

new_varuable = sum(of dummy1-dummy10);
Calyn
Fluorite | Level 6

I kept getting an error, so I searched using the sum terminology and was able to search for that for other options. So I just wanted to follow up with what I ended up doing that seems to have worked. I don't know enough about SAS to know why or why not, but wanted to follow up to make sure this looked alright?

DATA work.set_SAS; SET filesave.set_SAS;