BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
abasbabatunde
Calcite | Level 5

Hi,

I am new to SAS but I have been getting up really fast. I am working with a dataset that I consider large for SAS because its taking 6 hours to set it into my work librabry. Can you help on what I can do to load it faster. its more than 20Million observation and just 93 variables but its taking forever to load. Help please. This is my code

data work.c2019;

set tmp1.ccaeo19;

run;

12 REPLIES 12
SASKiwi
PROC Star

Try dataset compression to improve performance. If that helps compress the TMP1 version too. You should also drop variables and / or rows you don't need. 

data work.c2019 (compress = yes);
  set tmp1.ccaeo19;
run;

I suspect you are running this on a PC given the slow performance. At the end of the day you should process large datasets on a server, not a PC to get best performance.

abasbabatunde
Calcite | Level 5
Thank you so much. I will try the compress and can you give me a clue as to processing data on a server. How please?
SASKiwi
PROC Star

Not sure what you mean exactly. Processing this size data on a remote SAS server should take a few minutes at most - I would guess maybe 2 or 3 minutes.

What SAS user interface are you using? SAS Studio, SAS Enterprise Guide? If you don't know, post a screenshot.

ballardw
Super User

Where is this "loading" from?

abasbabatunde
Calcite | Level 5
from a share drive on my computer. Thats where the data is stored. if that answers your question
Patrick
Opal | Level 21

Instead of....

data work.c2019;
  set tmp1.ccaeo19;
run;

...you could code

proc datasets lib=work nolist nowarn;
  delete c2019;
  run;
quit;
proc append base=work.c2019(compress=yes) data=tmp1.ccaeo19;
run;quit;

This will read/write the data more efficiently. 

But.... I assume the bottleneck is network throughput and if you would just copy the SAS file with a copy command not using SAS it would take as long as it takes now using SAS.