BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
lcmiles2
Calcite | Level 5

I am VERY new at using SAS. I am working through a Lab for school and am running into some errors even though I am copying the code exactly. Its seems that the problem is always the contrast or estimate phrase although I am unsure what is wrong with it. All of the three examples below give me the same two codes- 22-322 and 76-322 directly below the contrast or estimate statement. What have I done wrong..?

proc glm data = clover;

class strain; model nitrogen = strain / solution;

estimate ’avg. of K1-K5 vs. composite’ strain -1 0.2 0.2 0.2 0.2 0.2 / e;

run;

OR

proc glm data = clover;

class strain; model nitrogen = strain / clparm;

estimate ’avg. of K1-K5 vs. composite’ strain -1 0.2 0.2 0.2 0.2 0.2 / e;

run;

OR

class strain;

model nitrogen = strain;

contrast ’diff among K1 - K5’ strain 0 1 -1 0 0 0,

strain 0 0 1 -1 0 0,

strain 0 0 0 1 -1 0,

strain 0 0 0 0 1 -1 / e;

run;

5 REPLIES 5
ballardw
Super User

Whenever you have a question about an Error, Warning or Note message it is best practice to copy the text from the LOG the entire data step or Procedure that generates the message along with all the messages. Then on the forum open a text box using the </> icon an paste the copied text.

The text box is important because many of the SAS error messages include diagnostic characters and if you paste the text into the main message window the text is reformatted and the diagnostic messages lose alignment. The 22-322 and 76-322  are two that usually place an _ character, or string of them, under the specific item that the SAS syntax checker indicates is the problem.

Another reason to include the LOG text is amazingly enough many people post code that was not actually what they ran. Sometimes referencing different data sets, sometime just missing ; at end of statements. 

We don't have your data so cannot actually run your model. You might have issues with the number of levels of your Strain variable.