BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
TDaimee
Calcite | Level 5

To whom it may concern:

I am a new student to SAS, taking my first SAS class.  I had a simple assignment to import an excel file into my library and run some summary statistics.  However, when I import my file and run summary statistics, the attached error is illustrated.  When I code it, then the only statistics which is shown is the number of observations as opposed to mean, standard deviation, etc.  My theory is that the dataset which is only two columns (year and GDP) is taking the numerical data and identifying this as a character as to why I am not able to run data summary statistics.

Please advise, thanks!

7 REPLIES 7
ballardw
Super User

@TDaimee wrote:

To whom it may concern:

I am a new student to SAS, taking my first SAS class.  I had a simple assignment to import an excel file into my library and run some summary statistics.  However, when I import my file and run summary statistics, the attached error is illustrated.  When I code it, then the only statistics which is shown is the number of observations as opposed to mean, standard deviation, etc.  My theory is that the dataset which is only two columns (year and GDP) is taking the numerical data and identifying this as a character as to why I am not able to run data summary statistics.

Please advise, thanks!

Run Proc Contents on the data set which is one way of identifying the variable types.

Proc contents data=youdatasetnamegoeshere;

run;

If the table shows type CHAR then you likely have an issue.

Can you show the CODE used to read the data? Also if you could share the source file we may have specific suggestions.

BTW any attachment you attempted didn't make it.

TDaimee
Calcite | Level 5

Hello!

Yes, the following two codes is what I used to import the data and then run the data statistics:

/* Import data */

PROC IMPORT OUT=myData

DATAFILE = "Your_File_Path/Week_8_Assignment_1.xlsx" dbms = xlsx replace;

RUN;

Running statistics: