BookmarkSubscribeRSS Feed
🔒 This topic is solved and locked. Need further help from the community? Please sign in and ask a new question.
Abelp9
Quartz | Level 8

Hello everyone, I'm new to sas programming and I would like to import 4 csv files that have this delimiter: || and I would like to change it to this |""|.

how could i do it? I have tried with this:

proc import file="xxxxxxx\xxxx.csv" 
out=work.test
dbms=dlm
replace;
delimiter='|""|';
run;

but it gives to me this errors:

ERROR: Some code points have not been transcoded.
ERROR: Invalid open mode.
ERROR: Import unsuccessful. See SAS Log for details.

If someone could help me I would be very grateful

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Tom
Super User Tom
Super User

Read the file yourself.  Don't ask PROC IMPROT to guess how to read the file.

Try this to see what the first few lines look like:

data _null_ ;
  infile "xxxxxx\xxxx.csv" obs=5;
  input;
  list;
run;

if it really looks like it is using the multiple byte string between the fields then try this to read in some of the values and look at them.

This will read the first 10 fields from the first 10 lines as character strings (truncated to 50 bytes each) and then print it so you can examine what the fields look like.

data test ;
  infile "xxxxxx\xxxx.csv" truncover obs=10 DLMSTR ='|""|';
  input (v1-v10) (:$50.);
run;
proc print;
run;

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
Tom
Super User Tom
Super User

A delimiter is a single character.  You can use multiple characters as delimiters, but that just means that each individual character in the delimiter list string is treated as delimiter.  You appear to be trying to say that your file is using a four character string as the delimiter.  Two vertical bar characters around two double quote characters.  If that is really how the file is built you will need to use the DLMSTR= option on the INFILE statement and not the DLM= option.